AMF Logo
Hans Schmelzer Music Award
Hans Schmelzer
The Hans Schmelzer Music Award was established in 2010 by the Alemannia Music Foundation to promote the study by musicians in the So. California area of music from the German speaking regions of Central and Eastern Europe. And through this study, to better connect student and advanced musicians with the roots of music development. It is our belief that by knowing where the music of today has come from, musicians will be better able to develop their own talents and apply their knowledge to the development of music as a whole.
The award was named in honor of Mr. Schmelzer who founded the German-American Brass Band of So. California. Because of his support of the local ethnic community through his work with the German-American Brass Band, he was recognized with numerous awards, including the Distinguished Service Cross of the Federal Republic of Germany. More information about Mr. Schmelzer can be found in the award’s 2022 Information Brochure.
The award includes a monetary grant, the amount of which may vary dependent upon the funding received for the year. For 2022, the grant is $500.00. Complete information and the criteria for the award can be found in the 2022 Information Brochure.
The Hans Schmelzer Music Award is administered and primarily funded by the AMF. Additional funding for 2022 has been generously provided by the German-American League of Los Angeles, Inc., Ltd., which is an organization representing 20 affiliated social, cultural, and business organizations in the So. California area. More information about the German-American League can be found on the League website at
Please Note: Due to the impact of the current COVID-19 pandemic on music programs at schools and other organizations, and the lack of performance opportunities in our area, nominations for the award may be made based on historical efforts or online performances by the nominated school or organization rather than on an on-site performance which occured during this calendar year.
The following is available for downloading:
•  2022 Information Brochure
(letter size / pdf)
Available Now  
•  2022 Nomination / Application Form
(on-line fillable & print – letter size / pdf)
Available Now Accepted thru Dec. 1, 2022  
•  2022 Nomination / Application Form
(printout only – letter size / pdf)
Available Now Accepted thru Dec. 1, 2022
2021  Colburn Orchestra (Los Angeles, California)
Symphony No. 6 by Anton Bruckner
2020  Tesserae Baroque Ensemble (Altadena, California)
Concert: The Legend of Zelenka featuring works of Jan Zelenka, Johnann Hasse, Johann Goldberg, Johnann Fasch, Johann Heinichen, and Johann Pisendel
2019  California State University, Long Beach - Bob Cole Conservatory Symphony (Long Beach, California)
Overture to The Sea Hawk by Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Symphony No. 8 by Franz Schubert
2018  Fountain Valley High School String Orchestra (Fountain Valley, California)
Divertimento Es-Dur für vier Streichinstrumente by Joseph Haydn and also Deception I (Music from the DaVinci Code for Percussion) by Hans Zimmer
2017  University of California, Los Angeles - Herb Alpert School of Music (Los Angeles, California)
Amadigi by Georg Friedrich Händel
2016  California State University, Northridge, Opera Ensemble (Northridge, California)
Hansel and Gretel by Engelbert Humperdinck
2015  Notre Dame High School Irish Knights Band (Sherman Oaks, California)
German Christmas by Jan Hadermann
2014  Huntington Beach High School Oilers Band (Huntington Beach, California)
Slavonic Dance No. 1 (Op. 46, No. 1) by Antonín Dvořák
2013  Granada Hills Charter High School Concert Band (Granada Hills, California)
Psalm 46 by John Zdechlik (based on A Mighty Fortress is Our God, a hymn by Martin Luther)
2012  Valencia High School Wind Ensemble (Santa Clarita, California)
Radetzky March by Johann Strauss, Sr.
2011  Don Bosco Technical Institute Concert Band (Rosemead, California)
Academic Festival Overture by Johannes Brahms
2010  California State University, San Bernadino Symphonic Band (San Bernadino, California)
Processional: Three Marches and Progression by Moritz Eggert (North American Premier)
(Special Award)
For questions about the Hans Schmelzer Music award please e-mail to: